check on it

April 21, 2011 § Leave a comment

Hellooooooooo world!

I took an unintended break from posting due to something I like to call “PMS”.  That stands for “Please Makeit Stop”!  Just kidding.  It stands for something else.

So, I’ve been craving kimchi fried rice lately like a crazy person.  Krazy for Kimchi.  Which is weird because I’ve only had it one time.  Do you ever crave food that you have never had?  I do.  I like to dream up new food all the time.  Back to the point.  I am so gonna make kimchi fried rice soon and I will share it here!  I even found some raw vegan kimchi at the market today.

With the cutest name ever!  Firefly Kimchi!  AGH!  The ingredients are super simple, also:  Organic green cabbage, organic garlic, organic ginger, celtic sea salt, and korean red peppers.  Watch for my recipe!

So, the past couple of weeks have been intense in my life.  Lots of challenges (good & bad), lots of growth, and unfortunately, that meant a fair portion of stress.  Went to Phoenix, had Lasik (thanks mom!), came home to a sick boyfriend, started a blog, agreed to begin working 6 days a week, quit my volunteer position, and lots of other little things that have all added up.  All of this to say, I was needing some comfort food and have eaten my weight in fideo the past few days so I headed out.  Out into the spring air, searching for something, I did not know what.

What I found was perhaps one of the tastiest sandwiches I’ve ever had.  I bought a premade tempeh reuben from the market made by none other than the Wayward Cafe.  An iphone photo:

Now doesn’t that just make you want to NOT EAT THAT AT ALL?  Please believe it was good.  Oh good jesus in a bucket, this was so good.  And it was COLD!  And I start some sentences with AND!  What are you gonna do about it?  You’re all the way over there and I’m all the way over here.  Anyway, this reuben was cold and still managed to be delicious.  The tempeh was crispy and flavorful, the fake 1000 Island was cool and creamy, and the saukraut was plentiful.  All on a nice marble rye.  This sandwich is on the cafe’s menu and is served hot off the grill with fries.  They have a plethora (always sounds like a disease to me) of other options and now all I need to know is who is going with me?

Well, I am off.  I have a potluck to attend tonight and I must go put on my face, lest I scare the children.

Note:  I have been loving the comments and appreciate them so much!  One thing that is so helpful is letting me know anything you’d like to see on the blog. Any ingredients, preparations, vegan myths, etc that you’d like to know about?  Just let me know!  xo

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading check on it at A HIT AT PARTIES.

meta

